The Congress of the United States is composed of two houses: the Senate and the House of Representatives. The Senate represents the states. Each state is guaranted at least one representative in the House. The remainder are apportioned among the states according to their population. The Senate of US is composed of one hundred members – two being elected from each state. Senators are chosen for six years, one-third retiring or seeking is re-elected every two years. Two senators from the same state never finish their terms at the same time, one of them is called “Senior Senator” and the other – “Junior Senator“.
The presiding officer of the Senate is the Vice-President of the United States. The Vice-President is not a member of the chamber over which he presides and he sometimes is not a member of the party in power.
The work of the US Congress is done mostly in different committees. The most important of the Senate committees are Appropriations Foreign Relations, Finance, Armed Services.
In the House of Representatives the most important are Rules, Appropriations, Ways and Means, Judiciary, Agriculture. The chairmen of the standing committees are considered the real rulers of the Senate and the House of Representatives.

  1. How many houses are there in the US Congress?
  2. What represents the Senate?
  3. How many members of Senate are there?
  4. Who is the Vice-President?
  5. How is the work of the US Congress done?
  6. Name the important committees of the Congress.

to compose – ташкил додан, таълиф намудан, иборат будан
according – тибқи, мувофиқи, аз рӯи
to retire – ба нафақа баромадан
senior – калонӣ
junior – хурдӣ
chamber – палата
chairman – намоянда


Анҷумани ИМА аз 2 палата иборат аст, яъне палатаи сенатҳо ва намояндагон. Сенат аз штатҳо иборат аст. Ҳар штат ба ҳадди ақал дар палата 1 намоянда дорад, вазифаҳои боқимонда байни штатҳо вобаста ба миқдори аҳолӣ тақсим мешавад. Сенати ИМА аз 100 аъзо иборат буда, аз ҳар сад нафари он дутоӣ аз иёлот интихоб мешавад. Сенаторонро ба мӯҳлати 6 сол интихоб мекунанд, сеяки мӯхлат барои нафақа меравад ё ҳар ду сол аз нав интихоб мегардад. Ду сенатор аз як штат ҳеч гоҳ аз таркиби пешин намебароянд, якеро «сенатори калонӣ» ва дигареро «сенатори хурд» меноманд.
Раиси сенат – ноиб-президенти Иёлоти Муттаҳидаи Акрико мебошад. Ноиб-президент аъзои сенат набуда, балки ҳатто баъзан аъзои ҳизби роҳбар низ дониста намешавад.
Амалиёти Анҷуман асосан тавассути кумитаҳои мухталиф иҷро мешавад. Кутиҳаи пардохти маблағ, корҳои хориҷӣ, молиявӣ ва қувваҳои мусаллаҳ – қисмати муҳимтарини сенат мебошад.
Кумитаи муҳимтарини палата – кумитаи пардохти маблағ муолиҷа, тафтишоти буҷавӣ, маҳкамаи судӣ ва хоҷагии қишлоқ ба ҳисоб меравад. Сарварони кумита – роҳбарони ҳақиқии сенат ва палатаи намояндагон мебошад.

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.